Asian Pacific Orthodontic Society

The Asian Pacific Orthodontic Society (APOS) was inaugurated on October 10, 2001 in Tokyo, Japan by its nine founding members (alphabetically listed):

  • APO (Association of Philippine Orthodontists)
  • AOS (Association of Orthodontists, Singapore)
  • COS (Chinese Orthodontic Society)
  • HKSO (Hong Kong Society of Orthodontists)
  • IAO (Indonesian Association of Orthodontists, formerly Indonesian Orthodontic Society)
  • IOS (Indian Orthodontic Society)
  • JOS (Japanese Orthodontic Society)
  • KAO (Korean association of Orthodontists)
  • ThaAO (Thai Association of Orthodontists)
Today the APOS has grown to 16 Affiliate members with the addition of the following:
  • ASO (Australian Society of Orthodontists)
  • BOS (Bangladesh Orthodontic Society)
  • MAO (Malaysian Association of Orthodontists)
  • MacAO (Macao Association of Orthodontists)
  • PAO (Pakistan Association of Orthodontists)
  • NZAO ( New Zealand Association of Orthodontists)
  • ODOAN (Orthodontic & Dentofacial Orthopaedic Association of Nepal

The purpose for which the APOS has been formed is to assist Affiliated Societies/Associations to promote excellence in orthodontics through education and research in the Asian Pacific region.

Moreover, the activities of the APOS are to disseminate scientific and artistic information relating to orthodontics particularly through its biennial congress, the Asian Pacific Orthodontic Congress (APOC).

APOS Website



    © Australian Society of Orthodontists